Sauvie Island

by xochitladriana

There is a place just outside of Portland that makes me very happy; this place is called Sauvie Island. Sauvie became my favorite place from the very first time I went there – it is green, beautiful and peaceful. There are farms, animals, a few beaches and the most beautiful scenery. The drive through the island calls for windows down, pretty music playing loudly and no words being spoken, just taking in the sights and the moment you are in.

I spend quite a bit of time at Sauvie Island throughout the year, but mostly in the spring and summer. There are farms that offer berry, apple, peach, and flower picking (Sauvie Island Farms is my favorite), beaches to picnic on with the Columbia River just waiting for you to swim in and in the fall, there is The Pumpkin Patch, where we go to eat kettle corn, pet animals, go through the corn maize and ride tractors that take us to huge fields of pumpkins until you find the perfect one.

Well, a couple of weeks ago, I happened to have plans three consecutive days on the island and I had my first roll of Kodak Portra 160 film to shoot. I was excited to shoot with it since I never had before but had seen how wonderful it looked and because I would be around people I love in my favorite place.

I got my film back yesterday and was not disappointed. There is still a lot I have to learn with my camera and there were a few I was a bit bummed about not turning out right (too bright, too dark, out of focus, etc), but overall I was pretty happy with the results. Here are a few of my favorites, from a day of berry picking and adventuring around the island and the evening of our Kinfolk community potluck. Hope you guys enjoy them!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

